To Bulgaria via Train: Wow, Zagreb, who knew?

Ladies and Gentleman, roll up, roll up, the six-headed monster is hitting Zagreb. Pulling here, pushing there, hurry up, slow down, turn this way, walk that way, where’s my foot, where’s my wing? But really, six strong-headed people wandering around a city they didn’t know was mostly great joy, a grey, rainy, hungry arrival turned sunny, bright and satiated once luggage was stowed, a cafe was found, food and drinks served.

Definite goals, two churches, a market, the surprisingly poignant Museum of Broken Relationships, all punctuated by meandering detours. Meeting times moved to suit a trek to a vegan cafe that served gluten free food so two heads were thrilled, six bellies were delighted though, enough for meat and wheat to be forgotten for a while. Stock up, up, up while I can, one inside, three to take away, I’ll eat again, but who knows where, who knows when.

Then time alone, essential quiet, a short bath turned into a long soak once jacuzzi jets were spied and tried and ooooo, that’s good, my aching back is in love, my sore muscles are soothed, restlessness of essential emails unanswered calmed by hours in which to thoughtfully do so. Naked trips to an open-doored loo, no wonder I normally live by myself, the small things mean so much.



Leave a comment